"Probably the nicest facilities I've ever come across at a camp site."

August 2013
campsite2We have just returned from a wonderful relaxing weekend at "The Cud Life" campsite at Spruisty Farm! The site is just perfect for all ages there was a mixed aged group of campers including children and retired couples. On Friday night we gathered around the 'Fire Pit' and cooked our dinner then basked in the gentle heat from the fire. The camp site is immaculate and caters for most needs with all the amenities listed by previous reviews above. Buy the exceptionally warm welcome on arrival and throughout the stay by Tanya and Dave plus the amazing views make the site a place to return to again and again. We visited Harrogate and Castle Howard during our stay and there are so many places to eat out we will definitely be back!
 
August 2013 
Just spent a sneaky weekend away at "The Cud Life" campsite in our motorhome. The facilities are quite simply 5* with every attention to those important little details. Even a pair of GHD|'s to use if needed, to tame wild camping hair!!!!!! If you want to stay in a first rate cottage with the most amazing views & the finest Yorkshire welcome, then hurry up be quick & book, because little gems like this don't stay empty for long. We had a tour round "Humblebee Cottage" and were blown away by the quality. In short , "an absolute belter of a find",  but please don't tell too many folk or else we won't be able to book a pitch !!!!!!
 
 
September 2014
Have just returned from a short break on this site and would echo previous positive comments. I feel that the welcoming owners have done very well to develop a clean well run site with sensible rules which don't detract from an old fashioned camping experience. We went to an adults only site in the summer but found it rather souless with most campers shut away in their caravans with the tv by 9pm despite the warm weather. Conversely the well spaced arrangement at The Cud Life allows plenty of room and the clear centre with campfire feels inclusive and encourages conversation. 

Approach road is very busy and undulating but site is down a long drive so noise not a problem but main road only suitable for experienced cyclists. Pubs in Killinghall served good food and easy walking distance. Knaresborough well worth a visit.
 
August 2014
Its hard to build on the praise given to this small, friendly and very welcoming site. Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend and had a great time. Lovely views from the tent, just a five or so minute drive into Harrogate and some great attractions and pubs very nearby (Enjoyed the bank holiday scarecrow festival in Ripley - pretty village, Brimham Rocks and had a great lunch at The Malt Shovel - www. Themaltshovelbrearton. Co. Uk). 
Lots of great touches make this place special, we'll certainly be back.
 
 

Some Reviews from Trip Advisor

 
August 2013 
Just spend a great few days at this new camping and caravan site. Field was beautifully mown and pitches were large, mostly with Electric Hook Ups. Facilities included 2 x unisex toilets and separate shower rooms (with heated towel rails). Hair dryer and hair straighteners too. Two undercover washing up sinks. 
In the middle of the camping field was a BBQ/Firepit which was lit on the Saturday night (weather permitting).
Owners were very pleasant and very obliging to campers requirements.
There was a bus stop at the end of the farm drive with regular transport to Harrogate which only took about 10 minutes. It was approx. 30-40 walk if you prefer. 10 minutes walk into the local village with 2 pubs (one with food). Fish and Chip shop open on Fridays and Saturdays.
Lots of lovely places to visit within easy reach if this site.

We had a fantastic relaxing break at The Cud Life and will be returning shortly.
 
 
 
Some Reviews from UK Campsites
 
August 2013
The site was lovely, set in the countryside, all the pitches had a view of the dales with large fire pit in the centre. 
Toilet/shower block really clean and well stocked, unisex which was really great for our family, large showers. Loads of hot water. Good washing up facilities. 
Close to variety of places to eat in Harrogate or there is 2 pubs in Killinghall. 
Lovely places to go and visit including Ripley Castle and Brimham Rocks lots of leaflets on the site. 

Owners really friendly and helpful.   We will be returning very soon!
 
June 2013
We have just returned from this campsite, on what was our first holiday with our caravan. We were not disappointed at all. This is a lovely small and friendly site, the owners are very friendly and welcoming, giving visitors a tour around the farm. 
Although there is not a playground, our son made lots of friends, they all enjoyed playing together, then having toasted marshmallows and various other delights around the fire pit that was lit on the Sat night. 
The toilet/shower block was spotlessly clean, the pitches were well spaced out.   We will definitely be returning to this site, but for longer than 1 night next time.
 
June2013
We have just returned from a lovely (if not wet) weekend at The Cud Life, Harrogate. I have to say this is a truly beautiful setting for the site and they seem to have got everything right. It`s small enough not feel overwhelming and the firepit in the middle is a lovely gathering point, yet if you don`t like socialising you don`t feel you have to sit around it. I am not one to use the shower facilities at all, but at this site I did, they were spotless, warm, well equipped and kept to a high standard all weekend. The site is just outside of Harrogate and only took us about 5mins to get into the centre of town by car. We will definitely be returning again with friends and family, and our kids ( ages 13 and 9) loved playing frizbee and footy etc on the field.
 
June 2013
I stayed here for one night mid week. The camp site is gorgeous, surrounded by beautiful countryside and close to Harrogate town centre. There is a bus that runs from the road outside the camp site into town. The shower block was immaculate, even had a heated towel rail. Its all been very well thought out, and I will be back with my family for a visit.
Probably the nicest facilities I've ever come across at a camp site.
 
cudlife tub

"Perfect…. perfect…. perfect!! We have spent three wonderful weeks in this wonderful cottage. Tanya and David are the perfect hosts – attentive yet unobtrusive. The homely little touches make such a difference. Thank you for re-introducing us to the beauty of North Yorkshire having just relocated from the middle east.  :-)   x "

the cud lifeTo Tanya and David, Thank you for a wonderful stay in your cottage, nothing was too much trouble. It was very nice and peaceful and certainly made a hectic business weekend more relaxing. Thank you for the personal touches ie apple pie, eggs and jam. Without hesitation we would recommend ‘Cowslip Cottage’ and will certainly stay here again when we are back in Harrogate.

"Beautiful cottage, lovely surroundings, a pity we couldn’t have stayed for longer. VERY comfy beds! Will certainly recommend to friends, Thank you."

Thank you for a wonderful stay, beautiful cottage in beautiful surroundings. Little Isabella loved all of the toys, but most of all ‘mooing’ at all of the cows. We’ll be back soon ;o)

"Relaxing week in your lovely ‘Cowslip Cottage’. Everything was appreciated and your little touches even more. This is a half way point for us to meet up with our Norwich family and I hope we will stay here again. Thank you :-) "

FP reviewA cottage as nice as its name suggests. Excellent location for visiting Yorkshires treasures like Ripon, Knaresborough,  Ilkley, Harrogate, Ripley Hall etc etc We Wish you every success with your cottages in the future and will spread the word. Thanks for the honey, jam and tarte tatin – Scrumptious!

"Thank you for a wonderful stay in your beautiful cottage. Excellent location, convenient, relaxing and wonderful walks. Your thoughtfulness and special touches such as the childrens toys made our stay extra special. Glass jug and sweeping brush much appreciated by Grandad!"

Very comfortable and relaxing with everything you need……including a real fire! Thanks for making us feel so welcome.

"Perfectly positioned for a wedding in Harrogate and a reception at Ripley Castle, Cowslip Cottage was warm, welcoming and well equipped. We managed two good walks – one around the farm and one along the Nidd at Pateley Bridge. Very keen to return for longer. Many Thanks."

Thank you for providing the setting for a lovely relaxing family Christmas. The cottage is superb and we have had a wonderful time.

"We have had a lovely stay here in Cowslip Cottage – what a beautiful place to see in the New Year. Thank you for making it all so comfortable (especially the extremely comfy beds) and for your kindness with the added extras; the boys were thrilled."

logo cudlife cottages felix

As well as Farmstay our cottages are also listed with Harrogate Holiday Cottages. If we are fully booked for the duration of your stay, do contact them as they have a huge portfolio of properties and Alison and her team offer a fantastic and efficient service.

Lovely cottage, would recommend highly (Cowslip Cottage)

This is a rare find - beautiful cottage - nicely decorated, spacious feel with all the amenities and views of delightful countryside. Highly recommend this cottage and the owners were so helpful and could not do enough for us. Great week.

Very Comfortable cottage! (Cowslip Cottage)

Great cottage on a working farm.Very well located for both Harrogate and Ripley castle.

The cottage was very comfortable, particularly the lounge with open fire and two excellent sofa's..ideal place for chilling out.

A lot of thought had gone into making this place feel like a home from home.

Ideal for relaxing and getting away from it all. Plenty of space throughout.

Kind and caring owners who made us very welcome on our visit.

Brillant. (Humble Bee)


 

The following reviews are from Humble Bee's comments book. Because the first person to sign put it to 'David and Tanya', everybody else has! 

Thanks to David and Tanya!
We had a wonderful stay here! The cottage has been tastefully decorated and the hosts are so thoughtful to cover all the possible small details! Definitely 5 star cottage and will highly recommend to other travellers!       The Lees Family, Hong Kong
 
David and Tanya, it was wonderful to stay in your well prepared and furnished cottage for the wedding of our daughter Mmasifer. Despite the unfriendly weather we enjoyed our stay here. The environment is soothing indeed. We will not hesitate to recommend our friends to experience the joy of this cottage.      Udogans' Family from Nigeria
 
David and Tanya, Thanks very much for making it such a pleasant stay. Ideally situated to get a flavour of Yorkshire. In our short stay we went to Skipton, York and Harrogate so feel we know the area fairly well. We will certainly reccommend it to all our friends who are thinking of coming to this area.
 
Hello Dave and Tanya,  We have had a fantastic time in your lovely cottage, the beds are SO COMFY you don't want to get out! And the decor is to the highest standard. This is the ideal place to stay to see the best places in Yorkshire - it's so peaceful, we have already recommended it to friends and family who also came to Harrogate for the wedding at Goldsborough Hall. We cannot praise it highly enough.     Michelle and family.
 
David and Tanya,  We enjoyed a relaxing five days in your tastefully decorated cottage complete with such comfortable beds, abundant hot water supplies. Thanks for arranging the gorgeous weather and attentive details which were much appreciated by all of us. Good luck with your future plans. Hopefully we'll make another visit in the non too distant future.      Peter, Shirley and Merry.
 

Links

farm stay
 
A farmer-owned consortium, registered under the Industrial & Provident Societies Act. The main objective is to market more effectively the accommodation provided by its members thus helping increase occupancy rates and incomes.
 
 
 
 
shiptonA careful and dramatic association of history, legend, drama and nature. Park, cave and petrifying well.
 
top 01
 
 
Crimple Valley provide the freshest and best tasting locally-grown produce at competitive prices to help to preserve the traditions of small farmers and local traders in the region.
 
 
mcqueens web design 120Knitted this website.
 

Find Us

Directions to The Cud Life

at Spruisty Hall Farm

We are situated on the road between Harrogate and Ripon in North Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom.

cudlife text logo felix fontTake the A61 North from Harrogate to Ripon. When you reach the Skipton Road roundabout crossing the A59, you need to continue straight onto the A61 towards RIPON. Follow this road for about half a mile and you will pass a car sales garage (Motorhouse Cars) on your left. Once you get to the top of the hill you will see a sign that reads RUMBLE STRIPS, indicate right and the lane is exactly where it reads SLOW across the road. There is a white marker (in daylight it is easier to look for the line of trees along the lane). Proceed over the cattle grid and along the drive (do not take the fork to Spruisty House) you will pass a little bungalow and then reach farm buildings.

Campsite reception is in the shop on the left hand side - use the buzzer if the shop is closed.

For the Cottages, follow the road between the big wooden and brick farm building and the main farmhouse.

            SatNav co-ordinates:  54. 01756, -1. 56097

 

animated wellies